Technology Institute for Music Educators
Helping Music Teachers Integrate Technology Since 1995
TI:ME is a 501-c3 Non-Profit Educational Organization

Early in November, TI:ME will be requesting nominations for the 2013 Technology Institute of Music Educators (TI:ME) Mike Kovins Teacher of the Year. The award will be presented at the annual TI:ME conference in San Antonio, Texas on February 13-16. Please start thinking about a special, deserving music educator using technology that you believe should be our next Mike Kovins Teacher of the Year. We will be sending out a special announcement with nominating instructions in the coming weeks, that will detail how to submit the educator you think we should honor in 2013.

The award was established in the memory of Mike Kovins, an early advocate for TI:ME with a vision for music technology.  Among numerous other contributions, Mike Kovins was active in the National Association of Music Merchants, and was instrumental in helping that organization with their early support for TI:ME.

To be eligible for the annual award, an educator must have at least three years of professional teaching experience or research in music technology and must currently be teaching K-12, collegiate or adult students.

Each nominee will then be asked to complete an application supporting their eligibility.  A committee of previous TI:ME Teacher of the Year recipients evaluates and selects the award winner. This person will receive an award at the keynote presentation of the TI:ME National Conference, and a banquet celebrating their accomplishment.

Past recipients of the TI:ME Mike Kovins Teacher of the Year award include Barbara Freedman (2012), Joe Pisano (2011), Rick Dammers (2010), Wayne Splettstoeszer (2009), Ace Martin (2008), Mike Fein (2007), Karen Garrett (2006), and Amy Burns (2005).

The deadline for nominations will be December 31, 2012.  The winner will be announced on January 14, 2013.  The award will be given at the TI:ME Keynote address at the TI:ME National Conference, February 13-16 which will be held in conjunction with the Texas Music Educators Conference in San Antonio, Texas.

Again, you will be asked to submit nominations on the TI:ME web site. Contact Floyd Richmond with any questions but please do not email him your nominees, and look for a special email from TI:ME announce entry instructions. Nominations will be accepted when submitted only on the TI:ME web site.


Cron Job Starts