TI:ME Teacher

Shawna Longo – 2019 TI:ME Teacher of the Year

TI:ME Teacher TI:ME is thrilled to announce that Shawna Longo, middle school music technology teacher at Hopatcong Borough Schools, New Jersey, has been selected as the 2019 recipient of the Mike Kovins TI:ME Teacher of the Year Award. We offer our congratulations to her on receiving this prestigious award. Shawna will be recognized as the 15th TI:ME Teacher of the Year at the TI:ME 2019 National Conference, held in conjunction with Texas Music Educators Association in San Antonio, TX, on February 13th, 2019.

Shawna Longo teaches grades 6-8 General Music (Music Technology) and serves as a STEAM Facilitator & Arts Integration Coach in the Hopatcong Borough Schools, NJ. She holds a Bachelor of Music in Music Education degree from The Catholic University of America in Washington, DC; a Master of Public Administration in Arts Administration from Seton Hall University in South Orange, NJ; Supervisor/Curriculum Director’s certification from Rutgers University in New Brunswick, NJ; and certification as an Arts Integration Specialist from Education Closet. In addition to teaching, she has also had a successful experience serving as a Music Supervisor for grades K-12. Mrs. Longo has extensive experience designing, implementing and mapping arts and arts integrated (STEAM) curriculums for grades K-12 in all disciplines.

Shawna serves on committees for NJMEA, the NJ Chapter of Ti:ME, and is Vice President of the Board of Education in the Morris Plains School District. She also serves as the STEAM Specialist for TMI Education and Growth Development Advisor & Coach for Education Closet. Her awards include: NJMEA “Master Music Teacher” in 2018, “Governor’s Educator of the Year” at Hopatcong Middle School in 2016 and is listed in Who’s Who Among American Teachers. She is also a Google Certified Teacher (Level 1 & 2), Apple Certified Teacher, and Defined STEM Certified Teacher.

Previous winners:
2005: Amy Burns, New Jersey
2006: Karen Garrett, Alabama
2007: Michael Fein, Pennsylvania
2008: Ace Martin, Florida
2009: Wayne Splettstoeszer, Connecticut
2010: Rick Dammers, New Jersey
2011: Joseph Pisano, Pennsylvania
2012: Barbara Freedman, Connecticut
2013: Richard McCready, Maryland
2014: Catie Dwinal, New Hampshire
2015: Will Kuhn, Ohio
2016: Marjorie LoPresti, New Jersey
2017: Stephanie Sanders, Maine
2018: Cherie Herring, South Carolina

Visit Homepage for more info

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top