TI:ME Mike Kovins
Teacher of the Year

The TI:ME Teacher of the Year Award was established in 2005 in memory of one of TI:ME’s most ardent members and pioneers, Mike Kovins. The award recognizes teachers who are consistently achieving the highest levels of student motivation and engagement in Music Education by infusing Music Technology into their work. Each of the recognized TI:ME Teachers of the Year is a proven trailblazer in our field.


2005 – Amy Burns
Far Hills Country Day School
Far Hills, New Jersey


2006 – Karen Garrett
Birmingham City Schools
Birmingham, Alabama


2007 – Michael Fein
Haverford High School
Haverford, Pennsylvania



2008 – Wayne Splettstoeszer
Torrington High School
Torrington, Connecticut


2009 – Ace Martin 
Douglas Anderson School 
of the Arts
Jacksonville, Florida

2010 – Rick Dammers
Rowan University
Glassboro, New Jersey


2011 – Joseph Pisano
Grove City College
Grove City, Pennsylvania


2012 – Barbara Freedman 
Greenwich High School
Greenwich, Connecticut

2013 – Richard McCready
River Hill High School
Clarksville, Maryland

2014 – Catie Dwinal
Elm Street Elementary School
Laconia, New Hampshire

2015 – Will Kuhn
Lebanon High School
Lebanon, Ohio

2016 – Marjorie LoPresti
East Brunswick High School
East Brunswick, New Jersey

2017 – Stephanie Sanders
Berwick Academy
South Berwick, Maine

2018 – Cherie Herring
Hammond School
Columbia, South Carolina

2019 – Shawna Longo
Durban Avenue School
Hopatcong, New Jersey

2020 – Anne Fennell
San Diego Unified School District
San Diego, California

2021 – Stefani Langol
Berklee College of Music
Boston, Massachusetts

2022 – Ryan Van Bibber
Columbus Ohio City Schools, Columbus State Community College, Fort Hayes Career Center

2023 – Heath Jones

McConnell Middle School 

Gwinnett County, Georgia


Scroll to Top