Teacher of the Year Nomination Deadline

TI:ME (Technology In Music Education) is now accepting nominations for the 2024 Mike Kovins Teacher of the Year Award. This award is highly prestigious, and each year is awarded to an outstanding educator in the field of Music Education using Technology. 

Previous winners are:

  • Amy Burns – 2005
  • Karen Garrett – 2006
  • Michael Fein – 2007
  • Ace Martin – 2008
  • Wayne Splettstoeszer – 2009
  • Rick Dammers – 2010
  • Joe Pisano – 2011
  • Barbara Freedman – 2012
  • Richard McCready – 2013
  • Catie Dwinal – 2014
  • Will Kuhn – 2015
  • Marjorie LoPresti – 2016
  • Stephanie Sanders – 2017
  • Cherie Herring – 2018
  • Shawna Longo – 2019
  • Anne Fennell – 2020
  • Stefani Langol – 2021
  • Ryan Van Bibber – 2022
  • Heath Jones – 2023

The 2024 Award will be presented at the TI:ME National Conference in San Antonio, TX, on February 7th, 2024.

To nominate a colleague or friend for this award, please send an email to the TI:ME Teacher of the Year Committee Chair, Richard McCready, at [email protected] with the following documents:

1) A letter of recommendation from the nominator introducing the nominee, including details of how this nominee fulfills the TI:ME mission.

2) A copy of the nominee’s current Curriculum Vitae.

3) Three letters of support from the nominee’s colleagues, administrators and/or students. It is recommended that a variety of letter writers be chosen here, i.e. not three students, nor three administrators, but a mixture of people who know the nominee’s work and can speak to their positive influence with technology in music education.

4) A current headshot of the nominee, for publicity purposes if the nominee receives the award.

Nominations should be submitted by January 12th, 2024. You will receive an email confirmation of your submission. If you do not receive this confirmation within 48 hours of submitting the nomination, please send a text message to 410-371-7140.

Please note that both nominator and nominee must be TI:ME members in good standing for at least two years at the time of the presentation of the award (February 7th, 2024).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top